Summer School
June 11–15, 2018

Šibenik, Croatia
   Summer School
   on real-world crypto and privacy


Welcome to the home page of the Summer School on real-world crypto and privacy. It will take place in Šibenik (Croatia), June 11–15, 2018.


  • 08.02.2018: More details about the Riscure workshop now online. Registered participants can sign up via email
  • 16.02.2018: Registered participants can now sign up for the Hardware Tutorial on Thursday, June 14
  • 15.02.2018: There will be a workshop by Riscure similar to previous editions. Details coming soon!
  • 26.01.2018: Preliminary version of the programme is now online
  • 14.01.2018: Registration is now open. Early registration ends on 06 May
  • 22.12.2017: Stipend application is now open
  • 01.08.2017: Sponsorship information is now available
  • 26.07.2017: Website is online


The summer school is jointly organized by the Digital Security (DiS) group, Radboud University (The Netherlands), ETH Zurich Information Security and Privacy Center (Switzerland) and Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computing, University of Zagreb (Croatia).

The school aims at bringing together Master/PhD students, academics and security experts from industry.
The focus of the summer school is on:

  • Cryptography for the Internet
  • Recent developments in symmetric key cryptography
  • Security proofs in cryptography
  • Wireless security
  • Crypto for systems security
  • Software and hardware security
  • Privacy enhancing technologies
  • Blockchain security (special session)

This year's edition includes a special session on distributed ledgers, where participants will learn from several experts in the area about broad security aspects associated with these technologies. This session has been sponsored by the Glass Houses project, which is funded by the UK's Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC).

Scientific committee

  • Lejla Batina, Radboud University, The Netherlands
  • Srdjan Capkun, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Kenny Paterson, RHUL, UK
  • Peter Schwabe, Radboud University, The Netherlands
  • Carmela Troncoso, EPFL, Switzerland

Organizing committee

  • Lejla Batina, Radboud University, The Netherlands
  • Srdjan Capkun, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Marin Golub, FER, Croatia
  • Irma Haerkens, Radboud University, The Netherlands
  • Sarah Meiklejohn, University College London, UK
  • Nele Mentens, KU Leuven, Belgium
  • Veelasha Moonsamy, Utrecht University, The Netherlands
  • Stjepan Picek, TU Delft, The Netherlands
  • Peter Schwabe, Radboud University, The Netherlands

Organized by